Showing posts with label Software tips. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Software tips. Show all posts

Saturday, September 12, 2009

Windows 7 upgrade New

Bookmark and Share
windows_7_install
A Microsoft Software Engineer has acquaint the after-effects of tests the aggregation performed to the advancement time of Windows 7. Worst case book is that it will yield a bit over 20 hours. But a apple-pie 32-bit install on what Microsoft calls "high-end hardware" should yield alone 30 minutes.

While developing Windows 7, Microsoft ran abounding altered achievement tests to accomplish abiding the operating arrangement was an advance over its predecessors. One of the tests focused on advancement performance: Microsoft capital to accomplish abiding that an advancement from Vista SP1 to Windows 7 was aural a 5 percent beginning faster than an advancement from Vista SP1 to Vista SP1. Microsoft gave three affidavit for application the Vista SP1 to Vista SP1 advancement as a baseline instead of Windows XP to Vista:

* Windows XP is a awfully altered operating arrangement compared to Vista and an advancement from Windows XP -> Vista would not be a acceptable allegory with Vista -> Windows 7

* Windows XP did not abutment 64-bit upgrades and we capital to clue 64-bit advancement achievement as able-bodied as 32-bit upgrades for Windows 7

* Vista SP1 -> Vista SP1 is a accurate advancement aisle that contest all advancement cipher (this advancement is frequently acclimated by Product Abutment Services for a adjustment scenario)

The metric acclimated was absolute advancement time beyond altered user profiles (with altered abstracts set sizes and amount of programs installed) and altered accouterments profiles. According to the analysis after-effects that Chris Hernandez, a Microsoft Software Engineer, acquaint on his blog, Redmond managed to get the Windows 7 advancement time to be faster or according aural the 5 percent beginning to the Vista SP1 advancement time.

The better affair that stands out about this blueprint is the actual ample ambit of the advancement time: from 30 account to 1,220 minutes. That additional acute is not a typo: Microsoft absolutely did time an advancement that took 20 hours and 20 minutes. That's with 650GB of data, 40 applications, on mid-end hardware, and during a 32-bit upgrade. We don't even wish to apperceive how continued it would yield if Microsoft had agitated accomplishing the aforementioned analysis with low-end hardware.

The added absorbing point account acquainted is that the 32-bit advancement is faster on a apple-pie install than a 64-bit upgrade, behindhand of the accouterments configuration, and is faster on low-end hardware, behindhand of the Abstracts Profile. In the added six cases, the 64-bit advancement is faster than the 32-bit ugprade.

We consistently acclaim a apple-pie accession over assuming an advancement installation . It's the best way to abstain lots of problems with a new operating system. Now we've got addition acumen to accomplish the recommendation: in assertive cases it may just save you a ton of time, even with abetment up and reinstalling applications.
Read rest of entry

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Classic Menu for Office 2007

Bookmark and Share
When I first heard of Office 2007 and had a sneak of it, I felt like uninterested. The looks are all new. Thus, I never really upgraded my Office to 2007. But, I need to because I need to learn the new interface of the software. Almost everyone had upgraded their Office 2003 to Office 2007. Leaving me no choice, but to follow. Well, it is real hard because I am more of a keyboard rather than a mouse person. So, whenever I am using Office 2007, may it be Word, Excel, Power Point, or Outlook, I used to press shortcut keys that leads me to nothing. On the other hand, using the mouse to make necessary adjustments is somewhat uneasy for I am still unfamiliar of the new environment I am working with. Nonetheless, I loved the new features of Office 2007 such as the save as PDF file functionality. Probably, I would appreciate Office 2007 more if offered with the new functionality with the same classic or standard menu. I'm not really against the new interface, it's just that, I am now more comfortable of the old one. I had found this add on tool on the web that caters Classic Style Menus and Toolbars for Word, Excel, PowerPoint 2007. There's a free trial version so I tested it. It's pretty amazing. Here are snapshots of the Word 2007 with and without the Classic Style Menus and Toolbars.

Read rest of entry

Monday, May 18, 2009

Creating Perfect Mattes Using Channels in Adobe Photoshop CS3

Bookmark and Share
Using a selection tool alone in Photoshop might not capture all of the pixel data that you need to cleanly cut out an image from your photo. Instead, you can use Photoshop's Channels to extract the data you need.

Here are some simple steps to follow so that you can get a perfect matte using some great tools that Photoshop offers.

Duplicate the image

1. Select Layer>Duplicate.

2. Select Edit>All.
3. Click the Channels tab and Select Layer>New>Layer to create a new channel.

4. Paste the selected layer in the new channel. A black and white alpha channel will appear. Select Select>Deselect to deselect the information in the new channel.

Crush the blacks



1. Select Image>Adjustments>Levels to adjust the levels. Move the left slider to the right to crush the blacks. Move the right slider to the left to restore the white background.

2. Use the lasso tool to remove any remaining detail inside your image. Press (Mac) or (PC) to delete the remaining information.

3. Select Select>Deselect to deselect your image.

Create a mask

1. Select Image>Adjustments>Inverse to create the mask for your image.

2. -Click or -Click the image icon in the Channel tab to select the alpha channel outline.

3. Click the Layers tab and select Layer>Layer Mask>Reveal Selection. If you turn off the background channel, you can see that the white background has been masked out.

Do the hair

Not ending up with blocky hair can be the hardest part of creating a clean mask. Using Levels and Masks can make life a lot easier than working with a Bezier or erasing a mask.

I am adding a colored background so that it's easier to see the hair of the subject.

1. Select Layer>New Fill Color>Solid Color. Select a color to help see. Make sure to drag the fill layer below the image layers.

2. Select Layer>Duplicate Layer to duplicate the image layer. This ensures that your original mask remains unchanged. The aim is to edit the masks only and not the layer.

3. Set the Duplicated mask layer to Normal and set the original Mask layer to Multiply.

Make sure to select the Mask for the duplicate image.

1. Select the Lasso tool and select the washed out areas of the hair.

2. Select Select>Modify>Feather. Start with a range between 5 and 50 depending on how high resolution your image is.

Crush the Whites

1. Select Image>Adjustments>Levels. Move the white Output Levels slider to the left, until the white highlights disappear.

You can now experiment with additional layers to correct the colors, etc. further.

This method is quite useful if you have multiple images shot on a white background and have

Read rest of entry
 

AddThis

Bookmark and Share

Recommended Gadget

  • ads
  • ads
  • ads
  • ads

Followers

Add to Technorati Favorites Technology Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directoryping me to technorati Technology blogs Technology Top Blogs blogarama - the blog directory Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory Join My Community at MyBloglog! Top 100 Gadget Blogs Free Directory Submit - Submit your site for free in this search engine friendly web directory to expose your quality website to the world. EatonWeb Blog Directory Feedage Grade B rated SEO Executive Free Automatic Backlink Skoobe Link Directory Submit url

Technology Site Copyright © 2009 Gadget Blog is Supported by Suspended driving license